Periscope vows fix for broadcasters mad that they forfeit tips by deleting replays

Periscope’s new Super Hearts tipping feature that launched yesterday quickly sparked a backlash from the creators it was designed to help earn money.

periscope-sunk

Broadcasters discovered that if they deleted the replay of one of their live videos before cashing out their tips at the end of the month, they’d lose any tips received during the stream. That meant if a video was overly personal or sensitive, unflattering or a creator otherwise didn’t want the replay on the internet, they’d be forced to forfeit money they’d earned. Twitter already takes a 30 percent cut of tips after the app store’s tax and payment processing fees are removed.

periscope-lose-stars-delete

TechCrunch asked Twitter for an explanation of why it would need to delete people’s tips if they deleted their replays. Initially a spokesperson merely replied that broadcasters can delete replays after they cash out their tips at the end of the month, and pointed to the broadcaster guidelines.

But after the outrage from broadcasters snowballed, Periscope tweeted that it’s working on a way for broadcasters to hide replays from the public without technically deleting them. Then Periscope followed up with me, noting that the rule against deletion was designed “to ensure all content that’s has been monetized complies with our community guidelines.” It presumably wanted to avoid paying people for tips they earned through nudity or scams, but went too far.

In-app tipping for live streamers was pioneered and popularized in China, but recently American apps like YouTube and Twitch have adopted the trend. Apps that built creator monetization in from the start are thriving, with Live.me having paid out over $3.5 million to broadcasters in less than a year.

Source: TechCrunch

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s